BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra 2

Scott McLaughlin’s new work treats both individual instruments and the orchestra-as-a-whole as continuous fields of sound: ‘by playing in unstable zones of sound production, gentle bowing and breathing actions pleat and fold the sound across tipping points, shaping and forming musical structures.’ James Week’s World Premiere Weligwic (from the Anglo-Saxon, meaning ‘place of willows’) is ‘concerned with images of light and foliage as well as the theme of our indwelling within the natural world.’ And there’s the UK Premiere of German composer Carola Bauckholt’s Im Auge des Klangs (In the Eye of Sound) in a new version specially created for the Festival.

Scott McLaughlin The Dirac Sea: Folds in continuous fields (World Premiere)
James Weeks Weligwic (World Premiere)
Carola Bauckholt Im Auge des Klangs (UK Premiere of new version)

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Ilan Volkov conductor

Back to schedule